Posted by: Hugh Griffiths | January 25, 2006

The Prophetic Church | 02

In writing yesterday’s post, I highlighted just one principle of being a prophetic church – that ‘each one’ (including me and you!) can prophesy. Today and tomorrow I want to continue that theme.

I will stand at my watch and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what he will say to me, and what answer I am to give to this complaint (Habakkuk 2:1)

Even if I earnestly desire the gift of prophesy, that desire is not sufficient in itself. As well as having passion for the prophetic, I must also be positioned for it, to ‘stand at my watch’ in the words of Habakkuk. There is a waiting on God necessary that specifically anticipates the prophetic word to come.

To be a prophetic people, we must recognise that the word of God does not come at random but instead it is sent with purpose to those ready to hear. Just as in other areas of life, I cannot expect to hear unless I am able to listen and that requires me giving it some attention.

The challenge is therefore not only to believe that God wants me to prophesy, but also to make more time to listen for the voice of the Lord. To really put faith into practice means that I will watch and wait for the word of the Lord rather than expect Him to break in and interrupt anything else I might be doing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

