Posted by: Hugh Griffiths | January 13, 2006

My top 5 books from 2005 (part 3)

My third selection for the top 5 is by John Ortberg who has an amazing ability to communicate. I’ve not yet read all his books, but those I have all contain deeply spiritual yet very practical insights into the Christian life. His most recent title (I think!) is:

God Is Closer Than You Think
Whereas Matt Redman speaks of the ‘otherness’ of God, John Ortberg begins by referring to the ‘everywhereness’ of God. While God is beyond our comprehension in his glory and greatness, he is also within reach. Our whole lives and circumstances are filled with him and his presence if only we would learn to recognise and enjoy his presence.

Otherness and everywhereness … what an amazing God for us to experience.

Responses

  1. Hi Hugh

    I am in the middle of reading ” Your Best Life Now, 7 Steps to living at your full potential” by Joel Osteen.

    It’s one of the most challenging and exciting books, that I have read recently and is in my Top Ten Books of all time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

